Governance of Askham Bryan College

The College’s Corporation includes seventeen members or governors. In line with the Instruments and Articles of Government the Corporation’s membership includes the Principal, twelve governors, two student governors and two staff governors.

Governors have a critical role in:

  • Ensuring the financial wellbeing of the College and monitoring the effective and efficient use of resources and the quality of its services
  • Assuring that the College’s educational character meets the needs of the community which the College serves
  • Ensuring that the College mission and vision both reflects the needs of the community it serves and informs and directs every aspect of the College’s activities
  • Monitoring the ethos of the College


Committee Membership as at 14 October 2021

Please see the download section below. Any further information is available from the Clerk to the Corporation in line with the Instruments and Articles.

Please direct any correspondence to the Clerk to the Corporation:

Askham Bryan College, Askham Bryan, York, Y023 3FR

Alternatively please call 01904 772277 or email us.

In regard to Freedom of Information Act requests, please email

Financial Statements

Financial Statement July 2020

Instruments and Articles

Askham Bryan Corporation Governors

Maureen Vevers

Chair of Corporation

John Williams

Vice Chair of Corporation

Tim Whitaker

CEO and Principal Askham Bryan College

Judith Clapham

Director of Governance

Linda Haigh

Independent Governor

Chris Moss

Independent Governor - Co-optee Audit Commission

Trevor Shaw

Independent Governor

Annabel Jelly

Independent Governor

Martin Moorhouse

Independent Governor

Emma Wilkins

Independent Governor

Graeme Osborn

Independent Governor

Nicholas Lawton

Academic Staff Governor

Declan Whelan

Staff Governor (non-academic)

David Lynch

Independent Governor

Mike Gallaway

Independent Governor

Jordan Webster

Student Governor

Oli Goddard

Student Governor

Askham Bryan College Video