T-Levels -

Discover T Levels

Welcome to the new T Level qualifications in Agriculture, Animal and Equine at Askham Bryan College. More specific course details will emerge in due course.

About T Levels

T Levels are a 2-year qualification that you can do as an alternative to A levels, other post-16 courses or an apprenticeship. They bring classroom learning and an extended industry placement together on a course designed with businesses and employers.

You’ll spend 80% of your time in the classroom and 20% on a 45-day placement with an employer to give you the skills and knowledge companies look for.

How do T Levels compare to other courses?

T Levels give you another choice after your GCSEs.

One T Level takes 2 years of full-time study and is equivalent in size to 3 A levels.

How are T Levels graded?

When you pass your T Level, you will get a nationally recognised certificate showing the overall grade you achieved – pass, merit, distinction or distinction*.



Your qualification will  give details of what you learned on the course to help you move into skilled employment or a higher apprenticeship.

Your T Level will be worth UCAS points – a T Level Distinction* is worth the same as 3 A levels at A* – and will be recognised by universities and other education providers so you can choose to continue studying if you wish.


T Levels have been designed with leading businesses and employers to give you the knowledge and skills you need.

Your industry placement will last for at least 45 days.

T Level in Agriculture*

The T level in Agriculture will be available from September 2023. *Specialised pathways available will be Crop production or Livestock Production (subject to change)

Find out more here

Animal/Equine Care and Management*

The T Level in Animal Care and Management will be available from September 2024. *Specialised pathways available will be Animal Care or Equine Care (subject to change)

Find out more here

The video below provides you with an overview about T Levels.

Askham Bryan College Video